Find Laws Find Lawyers Free Legal Forms USA State Laws
Home » Find Laws » Common Laws » Common Law » Easy Steps To Obtain A Common Law Marriage

Easy Steps To Obtain A Common Law Marriage

Common Law Marriage

The steps required in order to obtain a common law marriage vary between the 12 states/districts in which they are currently recognized within the United States of America. These states/districts include: Alabama, Colorado, Washington D.C., Iowa, Kansas, Montana, New Hampshire, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas, and Utah.

In order to be considered for a valid and recognized common law marriage within these 12 jurisdictions, the following details regarding residential cohabitation are taken into consideration:

The couple must be participating in a residential cohabitation. In other words, the couple in question must live together.

The two must possess, utilize, and file a statement of joint income. This adds validity and seriousness to the relationship in question in the eyes of many legislative bodies.

The couple in question must have lived together for a ‘significant duration of time’. However, there is no definitive amount of time specified in any state legislature.

The couple must have the intent to eventually wed.

NEXT: Read This Before Entering Into A Common Law Marriage in Texas

Related Articles

Link To This Page


Find an TX Lawyer
Guide to Finding a Lawyer